From a farmyard to the Heffterhof

Hotel Heffterhof was established on the site of a farmhouse dating back to 1604, so we’ve always had a strong connection to our origins and history. After the Second World War, from 1952 onwards, the venue was then adapted to become a training facility for people working in rural, agricultural regions. In the 60s, agricultural machinery and householding departments were added.

From 1976 on, the continuous process of expansion lead to the establishment of the LFI Heffterhof – a rural training institute belonging to the Agricultural Chambers. In later years, the householding school was moved to the Winkelhof in Oberalm and the agricultural machinery department was dissolved.

In 2000 a period of restructuring commenced, involving the expansion, reconstruction and erection of the Heffterhof seminar, conference and meetings hotel. The 4-star hotel ultimately opened in October 2002. ‘Heffter­hof’ was derived from the name of a former mayor of Salzburg, Ignaz Hefter. The second ‘f’ was erroneously inherited from earlier documents, and has never been removed since.

Vom Bauernhof zum Heffterhof

Von jeher seinen Ursprüngen und seiner Geschichte verschrieben, entstand das Hotel Heffterhof aus einem Bauerngut, das auf das Jahr 1604 zurückgeht. Die Zeit als Weiterbildungseinrichtung für den ländlichen Raum begann in den Nachkriegsjahren ab 1952. In den 60ern wurde das Haus um die Land­maschinen- und die Haus­wirt­schafts­schule erweitert.

Ab 1976 entstand unter stetigem Aus­bau das LFI-Heffter­hof, das ländliche Fort­bildungs­institut der Land­wirtschafts­kammer. Im Lauf der Zeit wanderte die Haus­wirtschafts­schule nach Ober­alm ab (Winkel­hof) und die Land­maschinen­schule wurde aufgelöst.

So begann 2000 die Umstruk­turierung und der Aus-, Um- und Neubau des Seminar- und Tagungs­hotels Heffterhof. Das 4-Sterne Hotel öffnete im Oktober 2002 seine Türen. Der Name „Heffter­hof“ leitet sich von Ignaz Hefter, Bürger­meister der Stadt Salz­burg, ab. Das zweite „f“ wurde von einer falschen Schreib­weise aus früheren Doku­menten über­nommen – und das ist bis heute ganz einfach so geblieben.